A Sudden Liberating Thought

Askildsen, Kjell: En plutselig frigjørende tanke

A Sudden Liberating Thought consists of 13 short stories, from the debut book From Now On I’ll Walk You All the Way Home (1953), Side Scene (1966), Nothing for Nothing (1982) and Thomas F’s Last Notes to the Public (1983). The title short story A Sudden Liberating Thought was first published in this collection. Together, these short stories create an impression of one of the greatest prose writers in Norwegian post war literature.

Praise for A Sudden Liberating Thought:

“Great short story art”
Ekstrabladet, Denmark

“Euro class prose”
Information, Denmark

“The coping stone to a great work”

First published: 1987, Forlaget Oktober
Kjell Askildsen: Biography and bibliography

Rights sold to

Language Foreign publisher
Amharic Hohe/Qirtas
Armenian NOR-DAR
British English Norvik Press
Bulgarian Delakort Publ., Sofia
Chinese (simplified) Shanghai Translation Publishing House
Czech Mlada fronta
Danish Per Kofod
Dutch Bezige Bij
Estonian Loomingu Raamatukogu
Finnish Like
French Le Serpent à Plumes
Georgian Karchkhadze Publishing
German Wolfgang Butt Verlag
Hebrew Simtaot Books
Icelandic Màl og menning
Italian Besa Editrice
Macedonian ViG Zenica
Persian Hedayet Art Centre
Polish Swiat Literacki Publishers
Portuguese Ahab Edicões
Romanian Pandora Publishing House
Russian Text Publishers
Serbian Geopoetika
Spanish Lengua De Trapo
Swedish Forum

Printer friendly versionPrinter friendly version