Life in the Countryside

Haarnack, Gustav: Livet på landet

Life in the Countryside consists of 901 numbered notes – from lyrical prose outbursts to private memos. Together they reflect Gustav Haarnack’s extraordinary thoughts, which in their literary form and from an apparently peripheral position challenge large parts of the previous century’s established philosophy. At the same time the writer’s own thinking was challenged and upset by his complicated love affair with the young dancer Nathalie de Main at the beginning of the 1960s in Paris.

First published: 2005, Aschehoug Fiction

Gustav Haarnack: Biography and bibliography

Printer friendly versionPrinter friendly version