No Way Around

Gulbranssen, Trygve: Ingen vei går utenom

In this third volume of the trilogy, a lot of the characters from the first book are dead. We have now reached well into the 1800s.

If anything, Old-Dag’s esteem and power in the villages have increased. But with the age of discretion and dignity come the reflections and the soul-searching, about the meaning of life and the beyond. He is rich, and has worked to be just that, but realises money, and the chase for it, is not the most important thing in life.

And when Old-Dag dies, the younger ones, Adelheid and Young-Dag, have to figure out how to arrange things and what places they should have in the new order of things. To Adelheid, the death of Old-Dag comes as a shock, and also Young-Dag has trouble adapting to the new life. Even though the challenges are big, the two of the finally, after a long marriage, find each other and become each other’s confidantes. Young-Dag continues his father’s life’s work.

This is a work of splendour! Each of the books are magnificent on their own. It is a trilogy about simple people who lead challenging lives in a community of traditions, and it grows and is polished through the battles of life. The books are catchy, written in a relatively simple, but strong language. Gulbranssen has created a reality that sucks the readers in and holt their attention throughout the three books.

The trilogy:
Beyond Sing the Woods
The Wind from the Mountains

First published: 1935, Aschehoug
Trygve Gulbranssen: Biogrpahy and bibliography

Printer friendly versionPrinter friendly version