The Fourth Night Watch

Falkberget, Johan: Den fjerde nattevakt

We are in Røros in the years of hardship at the beginning of the 19 th century. We follow the beautiful Gunhild, who is the wife of the mine worker David Finne, and the gifted and deeply religious minister Benjamin Sigismund through their ordeals caused by their passionate and tragic affair.

With this novel, the author makes the mining community on the Røros plains 200 years ago – a fascinating époque in Norwegian history. But the historical events merely provide a setting for the tragedy that unfolds. Above all, this is a psychological novel where the Christian message is intertwined with a timeless love story; a universal depiction of the human mind.

The Fourth Night Watch marked Falkberget’s literary breakthrough, and still today, this is one of the most widely read and admired Norwegian novels – it has also become well-known through both films and plays.

First published: 1923

Johan Falkberget: Biography and bibliography

Printer friendly versionPrinter friendly version